Thursday, February 17, 2011

When did slavery end for your family? Are you sure?

Not all slavery ended on 1863 or in 1865 after the Civil War. Antoinette Harrell, renown genealogist and talk show host, has uncovered thousands of records on the state and federal level that document Peonage which limited freedom to a great extent after Emancipation and into the 20th Century.

Join us on the Nurturing Our Roots BlogTalkRadio Show Sunday, February 20, at 5pm Pacific, 6pm Mountain, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern when Ms. Harrell will uncover the untold story about:
  • What is Peonage?
  • Records documenting Peonage and their genealogical value
  • What was life like for those living under the unlawful institution of Peonage?
  • Cases of Peonage in the 20th Century
This will be the episode that you certainly will not want to miss! 
Robin Foster
Saving Stories

Click Here to Join   Call in: (347) 237-5191


4 comments:

Antoinette said...

I am looking forward to sharing the knowledge that I have gained on this subject. These records are rich and has proven to be vital for genealogical research. Please tune in tonight as we discuss slavery in the 20th century.

Saving Stories said...

We are so grateful that you have paved the way for us over ten years ago. I am looking forward to learning from you first-hand tonight!

This is definitely a door-opener to our research and an eye-opener concerning the definition of freedom.

Michael N. Henderson said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Michael N. Henderson said...

WHEN DID SLAVERY END FOR YOUR FAMILY? Interesting question you've posed here. Would your believe I found the exact date and document signed on December 16, 1779 in Spanish Colonial Louisiana. It was due to a slave woman's determination to be FREE. She is on my mother's side of our family. ARE YOU SURE? YES. Here is the Proof
http://video.pbs.org/video/1575582583/?starttime=1176060
You might have to cut and paste.
On my dad's side of our family, I am still looking for the exact date and proof.

Post a Comment

Total Pageviews

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Dcreators